

www.acts.asn.au c/o Griffith University EcoCentre 170 Kessels Road Nathan QLD 4111

# **ACTS 2011 Annual General Meeting**

Held on 28 September 2011 at the National Wine Centre of Australia, Adelaide, South Australia at 4.15pm.

#### Attendance:

40 member institutions represented

#### Chair:

President Leanne Denby (Macquarie University)

## Apologies:

There were no apologies

Welcome given by president to all members and especially the new members attending for the first time.

# Reports:

President Leanne Denby reported on the achievements of ACTS Inc. at the international, regional and national levels and involvement in the Rio+20 Earth Summit.

Moved: Edith Cowan University (Rowena Scott) Seconded: James Cook University (Lania Lynch) (CARRIED)

#### **Financial Report:**

Secretary Treasurer Delwyn Langdon presented the 2010 – 2011 Financial Report (Appendix A). Moved that the financial reports be adopted and the appointment of Hayes Knight Pty. Ltd. as auditors due the Association's increase in annual of income exceeded \$100,000.

Moved: Edith Cowan University (Rowena Scott) Seconded: Charles Sturt University (John Rafferty) (CARRIED)

## **Membership Report:**

Administration Rhiannon Chamberlain presented the 2011 ACTS Membership Report (Appendix B).

Moved: Macquarie University (Leanne Denby) Seconded: Griffith University (Delwyn Langdon) (CARRIED)

# Special Resolution:

The Executive Committee recommends the consideration and approval of the following amendment to the constitution:-

#### **"36 DISTRIBUTION OF SURPLUS ASSETS TO ANOTHER ENTITY**

- (1) This section applies if the association-
  - (a) is wound-up under part 10 of the Act; 1 or and
  - (b) it has surplus assets.
  - (b) ceases to be registered as a deductible gift recipient under Division 30 of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth).
- (2) The association must pass a special resolution nominating the transfer of any surplus assets to an association, fund, authority or institution as provided for under section 92(1) of the Associations Incorporation Act 1981.
- (3) An association nominated under rule 36 (2) must be a fund, authority or institution mentioned in subdivision 30-B, or endorsed under subdivision 30-BA, of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth).
- (4) The surplus assets must not be distributed among the association members.
- (3) The surplus assets must be given to another entity
  - (a) having objects similar to the association's objects; and
  - (b) the rules of which prohibit the distribution of the entity's income and assets to its members.
- (5) In this section "surplus assets" means the property of the Association remaining after the satisfaction of the debts and liabilities of the Association and the costs, charges and expenses of the winding up of the Association. has the meaning given by section 92(3)2 of the Act.<sup>4</sup>
  PART 10 (winding-up) of the ACT"

This amendment is recommended to the Executive Committee by MinterEllson Lawyers for the Association to meet the Australian Tax Office requirement to change our constitution so that the Association can obtain DGR tax status. This DGR tax status is required by many Foundations and grant providers to enable the Association to apply for research grants and projects. Moved that the special resolution be passed with the addition of "with similar objectives" to (2).

Moved: Tasmania University (Corey Peterson) Seconded: Victoria University (Rachael Keefe) (CARRIED)

## **Election of Officers:**

The following officers were declared elected

**President:** Leanne Denby (Macquarie University)

Secretary Treasurer: Delwyn Langdon (Griffith University)

### **Management Committee Members:**

Johnathon Pheasant (The University of Adelaide): Vice President Universities Pascaline Owers (Challenger Institution of Technology): V.P. TAFEs Lania Lynch (James Cook University): Vice President Operations John Rafferty (Charles Sturt University): (Vice President EfS

Nominations from the floor were taken to create two new Regional Director positions:

Regional Director Tasmania: Corey Peterson (University of Tasmania)
Regional Director New Zealand: Dr Lesley Stone (The University of Auckland)

AGM Closed: 4.45pm